Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Drupal Site Extremely Slow!
oakweb
post Oct 28 2009, 12:43 AM
Post #1

Group: Verified NS Member
Member No.: 5,961

Hello,

I'm new to putting up a site on Network Solutions. Usually I would have a separate host, but the client has hosting here.

I'm having a major issue with a drupal site we have created. It has extremely slow lag times on the initial connection/load of the site. Once you're on the site it seems to be running at normal speeds, but the initial load is enough to have any visitor question the site being up.

We took care of this part that was sent to us:
"Another thing you can check, is in your MySQL
connection string within your PHP script make sure you are using the local
network name for the MySQL database instead of the IP address. If you are
using the MySQL IP address the script may go out to the Internet, then back
in the network to perform queries (which produces more latency, and possibly
Internal Server Errors or Time out errors). The internal network name looks
something like "mysqlv1" and can be found in the  networksolutions.comdatabase manager after logging in."

but dont get what this is:
"If you have not done so already I would
recommend running an optimize table script on your MySQL database tables, to
speed up query times. "

Anyone know what that second piece of advice is?

Is this a network solutions issue with drupal? My programmer and I have done these sites for quite some time and have yet to encounter the speed issue like it is here. Any advice with drupal and netsol is much appreciated.

Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Craig
post Oct 28 2009, 07:56 AM
Post #2

Group: Administrators
Member No.: 1,317

QUOTE (oakweb @ Oct 28 2009, 01:51 AM) *
Hello,

I'm new to putting up a site on Network Solutions. Usually I would have a separate host, but the client has hosting here.